Friday, June 22, 2007

Cheney on the Three Branches of Government

I admit it has been a while since I took my 12th grade government class, but here's what I learned about the branches of government as set forth by the Constitution--there are three: the executive, the legislative, and the judicial. It seems Vice President Cheney has decided there's a fourth branch of government, that of the Office of Vice President With Special Powers. Here's a quote from abc news:
Vice President Dick Cheney has asserted his office is not a part of the executive branch of the U.S. government, and therefore not bound by a presidential order governing the protection of classified information by government agencies, according to a new letter from Rep. Henry Waxman, D-Calif., to Cheney.

Bill Leonard, head of the government's Information Security Oversight Office (ISOO), told Waxman's staff that Cheney's office has refused to provide his staff with details regarding classified documents or submit to a routine inspection as required by presidential order, according to Waxman.
Dailykos elaborates more.

No comments: